What’s a good mystery worth to you?

img299I saw a video the other day of a woman who bought not 1, not 2, but 3 mystery boxes off of eBay. I’m sure it was for the purpose of adding content to her website, or social media or whatever, but she spent $165 total for all three boxes without having a clue about what was inside. Just because she wanted to see what was in them.

At first I wasn’t all that concerned. I mean who doesn’t like a good mystery, right? And she did a good job of sweeping me up in the anticipation of first receiving the boxes and then opening them. She even had her coworkers guess what was inside.

My favorite response was when one of them asked, ‘You spent a $100 on this?’

It was only after I had a few moments to think about it that I came to the conclusion that this was the reason why the world is going to hell in a hand basket. Also, current economic theory is shit.

Of course I’ve always thought that economists were a little wacky ever since I took my first economy class in college. To assume that everyone will spend their money logically and in their bests interests is ludicrous. There’s a reason why there’s so much crap available to buy at the checkout of every store.

It’s called impulse buying, which flies in the face of economic theory.

It also explains why there are over 18,000 listings for mystery boxes on eBay currently. Some don’t seem so bad because they’re listed by reputable companies, but others not so much. You’d have to be extremely bored, not to mention gullible to buy them.

Who is that bored? Who is that gullible?

Evidently there are quite a few out there or there wouldn’t be that many listings…

I also wondered who was the first person to list a mystery box. Did they have a box of crap lying around and thought, ‘Gee, maybe if I build mystery and anticipation around this box someone will bid on it.’

Really, what did they have to lose? If no one bid on it all they had to do was drop it off at the local Goodwill. Either way their stuff was gone. So I guess I can’t blame someone for trying, but who spends $100 on a box that they have no idea what’s inside?

$100…

That’s a lot of groceries, or a utility bill, or a phone bill, or a dinner or two out.

Or save it until it multiplies and can be spent on say a car or a house or to pay off credit card bills which I have no doubt said person has if they’re entertaining the idea of buying a mystery box.

Anything really other than a crap shoot.

Once that happens maybe the mystery box market will dry up and economic theory will start to make sense…

Leave a Reply

