Dare to Have Faith

DSCN0598What is faith?

I was watching a show the other day and they defined it as a strong or unshakable belief especially without proof or evidence. Others may equate faith with religious belief.

After all, there is certainly no evidence there is a higher power…

But of course it was only a starting point for me. My mind took over and pretty soon my fingers started typing. What is life without faith?

Faith is probably one the most important things I have in my life. I grew up with it. I grew up with a very strong, very rigid belief system which has since morphed into many things, but faith was always constant.

For me faith and hope go hand-in-hand. I cannot have one without the other. And I’m glad to say that I almost always have hope. I’ve been knocked low quite a few times and hope seemed to be very far away but never for very long.

Some of you may call me naive. Some may say that my upbringing has caused me to be delusional. Some may just dismiss my beliefs as utter nonsense.

That’s okay. I don’t need or even want anyone else’s approval or acceptance. My beliefs, my faith, my hope are mine and deeply personal. I hardly ever actually speak to anyone about them because I know how different they are. I know most, if not all, other people just wouldn’t understand.

But my faith is an integral part of me. It kept me breathing when I couldn’t understand why anyone would want to live in such an awful, painful place. It has been the foundation upon which I’ve built a pretty awesome life. It’s given me a lifeline when the rest of the world has gone nuts.

So I just wanted to send a little reminder out there that faith isn’t a bad thing. It doesn’t mean you have to turn into some religious zealot who’s friends forget they exist. It doesn’t have to be weird.

It may make you do things you wouldn’t otherwise do, but mostly that’s a good thing.

Who wants to be a whiny, snarky, entitled asshole who hates the world?

We have plenty of those people. Dare to be different. Dare to see the beauty and hope in the world and other people. Dare to have faith.

Leave a Reply

