Nature’s Resiliency

img213I’ve started to work on my gardens early this year. Early for me anyway. And once again I was impressed with how plants can take what’s done to them and bounce back quickly.

When we moved in to our current home there were hostas everywhere in the front yard. I hadn’t been a big fan at our old house because they don’t have particularly pretty flowers and seem to be only good for attracting deer but these at least were variegated and free.

Free is good.

They grow and propagate easily so I figured I would keep them. I’ve since moved and split them several times. This year I had to take out the ones I transplanted a couple of years ago, split them, and replant them just about everywhere else around our yard.

Hostas don’t have a root ball to speak of, just a compact, cluster of smaller ones which make it difficult to separate. You have to just cut through them. A professional may have a better way, but that’s how I do it and I cringe every time.

I keep thinking, ‘I’m killing this plant. It’s going to die for sure now.’ Of course, I think that every time I have to prune anything. Irrational I know, but guilt is always a part of this process for me.

I split my hostas and replanted them. Some of them are still perky, but other are drooping and looking half dead by the time I get them in the ground. I know, just know, this is the time that I kill them.

I water them and finish up outside, hoping for the best. Later on in the evening I go back outside just to check on them and something amazing has happened. All of the hostas have sprung back to life. Other than the disturbed dirt around them no one could tell they had just been split and transplanted.

Amazing!

Then I start looking around my yard and in the woods the next day on our walk and see tons of plants and trees that show evidence of some kind of difficulty during their growth. But each one is standing tall and thriving. They found a way even when I’m sure it would have been easier to shrivel and die.

Much like plants there are things that happen to us that we don’t ask for or expect. Horrible, awful things that no person should have to endure. And it is so easy to let those circumstances stunt our growth or give up and die.

But it doesn’t have to be that way.

Once we accept the fact that bad things happen, often for no rhyme or reason, we can take those circumstances and figure out how to make them work for us. They are not a death sentence. They don’t have to keep us down.

It doesn’t matter what is done to us or happens to us, we can still thrive. And – this is the best part – it doesn’t matter what anyone else says or does! Our learning, growth, and success has nothing to do with anyone else.

If you doubt it, just take a walk in a park somewhere and start looking at all of the plants, trees especially. Really look and you’ll find that some of those trees are there despite their surroundings. Some would even say they shouldn’t be there, but they are.

They are there and will continue to grow.

How about us?

Leave a Reply

