Learning to Listen to My Body

img830I’m no spring chicken anymore. Life hasn’t changed all that much since I turned 40, but I have started to notice some differences. A couple of new gray hairs on my head, wanting to go to bed earlier, a total lack of caring whether or not someone agrees with or even wants my opinion…

 

The biggest difference I’ve noticed, though, is that I’ve become very aware of how my body feels. It seems that it now sends big glaring warning signals to my brain whenever I come close to doing something stupid. You know, something I wouldn’t have thought twice about 10 years ago.

Of course I still ignore most of those signals at least for a little while. If I’m in the middle of a project the last thing I want to do is stop. Who cares if I can’t walk upright for the next two days because I’ve strained all the muscles in my back?

I’m kind of glad to say that I do.

I care.

I want to be able to continue to do what I love to do for years and years. But I know that if I don’t start listening to my body now I’m more likely to be a shriveled, gnarled old lady incapable of even feeding myself. What fun would that be?

Even as I write this I’m fighting the feelings of inadequacy and disgust from all the conditioning I’ve received to always be pushing. I’m not doing enough. I’m lazy. I should be quicker. I should have had the project done by now. What’s wrong with me? Who cares if I’m sore or I have aches and pains or I’m just plain burned out?

Real adults don’t get burned out…

Ahhhhhh, enough!

This is my body. And as far as I know I only get one. So I’m going to start listening to it more – not all the time because it likes to be lazy – but definitely more.

And so what if it takes an extra day or two to finish a project? I know I will finish it and that’s the important part…


Download your copy today!

Consequence Art 2.png

Leave a Reply

