What if I don’t want to be better?

CAM00083‘Better at what?’ You ask.

‘Anything’, I say.

We’ve all seen the headlines.

‘5 Tips to be a Better Baker’

‘7 Tips to Have a Smaller Waistline’

‘3 Reasons Why You have to Completely Change Who You Are Today’

We’ve all clicked on some of them at one time or another. That’s why they’re written that way – to get us to click on them. Not so much to actually help us or make us better.

Cynical, I know, but true.

I almost clicked on a link the other day. I subscribe to newsletters on occasion. Mostly because they make it impossible not to, but this one seemed like it might last a while. It was for one of those cooking websites. I’m always looking for new recipes so I figured what the hell.

Sure enough, the other day they had a post about becoming a better baker. I love to bake and who doesn’t want to be the best they can be, right? So I pointed the arrow over the link and was about to click when it occurred to me that maybe I didn’t want to read what they had to say.

It might have told me a thing or two that I didn’t know already, but I know I’m a damn good baker, so maybe not. Either way the article had already started to make me question my ability and I hadn’t even gotten past the headline. So the content was surely going to make me feel even more inadequate.

Please don’t misunderstand me. I am all for self-improvement and growth. Lord knows I’m not the same person I was even a year ago and I am extremely grateful for that. But I like my self-improvement and growth to be on my terms, at my pace. I like to get my information from people who have experienced some of the same things as I have and have learned from them. I like to gain insight from people who want more out of life than to manipulate and deceive.

Not from some blogger who only needs clicks and page views and website traffic.

And really how can they possibly know that the tips or advice or whatever will ‘absolutely’ do anything for the readers? Of course they would have to care about the readers first.

But then again, who would click on a headline that said, ‘The following material may or may not improve your life’. Feeding off of people’s insecurities is much easier than actually honesty.

And we make it soooo easy for them. We all want the quick fix – the 3, 4, or 5 steps to happiness and a better life and a smaller size. And that’s the promise.

One click and you can have it all…

Well, not this chick, not this time. I guess I will wallow in my mediocrity a little while longer. Or work on something more important. Like, say, being happy with who I am at the moment, imperfections and all.

Who’s with me?


 

Coming Soon!

Consequence Cover

Consequence – Book 2 Fallacy Trilogy

 

 

 

Available Now!

cover

Fallacy – Read how it all began!

Leave a Reply

