We don’t buy food anymore…

img748…we buy convenience.

If your Facebook feed is anything like mine then you get a lot of recipes. It seems there’s a video for every type of recipe in the known world. Most of them involve some type of pre-made bread or sugar or other ingredient that we should eat less of.

I remember one time when I was a kid – and no I’m not THAT old – that I decided I wanted to bake a cake from scratch for my parents’ anniversary. My grandma said she would help me. It turned out pretty well, but it was different from the cake you get when you use a mix. I didn’t really think anything of it at the time, but now I wonder.

I wonder why we exchange our health for convenience. I’m not just talking about take-out. I’m talking about all the items in the grocery store with a laundry list of ingredients that most of us can’t pronounce or even know what they are.

The other day I looked at the ingredient list on a bag of frozen meatballs. I thought ‘hey, they can’t be that bad’ because I make them at home all the time with just a few ingredients. The list on this bag had to be at least 4″ long. And can someone explain to me why food manufacturers need to put sugar in meatballs?

Or anything other than desserts for that matter?

You don’t believe me? Take a look at the ingredient list on your favorite frozen food the next time you go to throw it in the microwave. I know it was a real eye-opener for me.

The past several months have been a real eye-opener for me. Ever since I’ve decided that my eating habits were doing me more harm than good it’s like I can’t get away from the fact that I tend to eat things that I have no way of knowing what they’ll do to me. I’m pretty sure they won’t kill me outright, but I think there’s a cumulative effect and I know most of them aren’t any good for me. If I’m being honest…

And if nothing else I gain weight, which in turn causes another set of health problems.

I know, I know. Most of us don’t have the time it takes to make a good home cooked meal every day let alone three. And even when we do, what fun is that? There’s always something better to do. Or something that tastes better than a nice, healthy meal. Or somewhere we need to be.

And one more convenience meal won’t make a difference to our waistline, right?

*Sigh*

So here’s my challenge. The next time you need (want) to make something that comes in a mix, kit, or whatever find a recipe online to make it from scratch. I think you’ll be surprised at how little more time it takes. And if you’re anything like me you have most if not all of the ingredients you need – you know, minus the chemicals and preservatives – to make it.

And then see if you think it tastes better. At the very least you will know, without a doubt what you’re consuming. And we can all breathe a little easier because we’re choosing health over convenience…

 

Leave a Reply

