If you can decorate a cake…

img710…you can patch a wall. And vice versa.

I’m not sure when gender-specific roles were established, but I think it may have started way back when. You know before modern (wo)man. It may have had something to do with the fact that only women can bear children.

Gasp! There’s something only one gender can physically do. Something only one gender was uniquely made (or evolved or whatever – this isn’t a question of where we came from) to do. So it kind of makes sense that duties, responsibilities, chores that relate to that would fall to that person.

But that doesn’t mean that it has to be that way. Sure women are always going to be ones to have children, but everything else is fair game. But this isn’t about cleaning toilets or changing diapers because there are plenty of us women who never felt the need to have children. This isn’t even about gender equality, not really.

I do a lot of home improvement stuff with my husband, R.J. It’s just what we do. It kind of comes with owning a home really.I couldn’t imagine not being about to fix or improve upon my home or worse yet expecting someone else to do it for me unless it makes more sense to hire a professional. I’m not crazy!

I was fortunate enough, though, to be raised by parents who believed it imperative to teach me how to do things – manual labor, bake a cake, clean a toilet, change the oil in a car. So I’m willing and able to try just about any project when it comes to my home.

The other day I was mixing the stuff to patch the cracks in our basement walls and it hit me. The stuff was pretty close to the consistency of cake frosting. And sure enough the same method I use to frost a cake is what I used to spread the stuff on the wall.

That got me to thinking, dangerous I know, but sometimes I can’t help it.

If I can do this ‘manly’ activity, then so can anyone else, male or female. And if I use the same basic skills for fixing cracks that I do for cooking or baking then it stands to reason that it would work the other way as well.

Of course not everyone likes doing things like cooking or baking or filling cracks in basement walls. But some don’t even think to do things like that, but maybe we should.

Maybe we should think about things that, for one reason or another, we’ve come to believe that we aren’t supposed to do. Maybe we should find a YouTube video to figure out how to install a back splash or build a book shelf or fix a leaky faucet.

Do something outside our comfort zone, something we grew up believing wasn’t our thing because we were a girl, or boy, or whatever. Even if it’s only once or twice, then at least we’ll know if it’s something we want to do. Not something we CAN do, because we CAN do anything we want.

Maybe we should stop focusing on what makes us different so it becomes easier to cross the gender specific line in terms of occupation. Then maybe we can all figure out who we are as people and realize that the sum is truly greater than its parts.

Leave a Reply

