Prevent Defense – Does it Ever Work?

I watched the Superbowl yesterday even though I wasn’t really rooting for either team. It would have been nice to see the Falcons win, though. I’m a sucker for the underdog. They did look good for quite a while.

 

And then they started to defend their lead. It was like they forgot what Tom Brady was capable of – or should I say his offensive line. Even the most average quarterback can make accurate throws when they have that much time.

But that’s for another post…

It’s amazing how a professional sports team can blow a 25 point lead with minutes to go in a game. It was a record according to the announcers. So why do football teams play to defend their lead and forget that they should be concerned more with adding to it?

I’m sure that’s not what the couches say. I’m sure they’re hoping the offense will continue to score, but once a team has it in their heads that they have to defend their lead it seems like they forget that they can score. The offense becomes so worried because the defense can’t hold the other team they start making mistakes and getting costly penalties. Costly as in they blow a 25 point lead.

I know, I know, it’s so easy to be an armchair quarterback. But you have to remember I’ve been punished with watching the Browns play for years. Everyone can agree that whatever that team does is wrong and they love the prevent defense.

What’s funny though is the whole point of a defense is to keep the opponent from scoring. So why is there a specific play that is called a prevent defense? Aren’t all the plays supposed to do that? I guess it’s just one of the quirks of football. It’s just a shame that it doesn’t seem to  work most of the time.

But what about everyday life? Isn’t that how most of us go through our day? We want to prevent bad things from happening or other people from hurting us. Never mind that while we’re so focused on what other people are doing or saying or accomplishing that we forget to try ourselves. We forget to grow and learn and succeed. We forget to strive toward the goal (insert any goal).

I get that we need to defend our lives and families and whatnot, but I for one am not going to let a prevent defense mindset keep me from doing what is most important…

Striving, reaching, and accomplishing my goals no matter what anyone else does.

Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

