Where do all the bullies go?

phone-012014-210I’ve often wondered what has happened to all the bullies I used to know when I was in school. There were quite a few. There was a time when I couldn’t go a whole day without someone laughing at me, or hitting me, or knocking me down, or spitting on me, or taking my books away from me and throwing them around.

All because of my religion…

So, yeah, I wonder what they’re doing now. If they’ve grown out of it. If they’re just as bad now only it’s their co-workers or subordinates who bear the brunt of their abuse. Have they had kids and are now raising a whole new generation of bullies?

And what makes a person a bully anyway? Were they born that way or did their parents do something to them? Probably a little of both.

I guess parents don’t want to tell their children that life is full of bullies no matter how old they are. They’re everywhere and there’s really no escaping them. Sure, as an adult you can switch jobs, but it’s more than likely that you’ll find someone just as bad if not worse at the next one.

Because we’re all bullies to some extent. We’re all insecure and want people to like us. We’re all hurting for one reason or another. And that makes us lash out at those people around us who are different.

Sure most of us learn to hide it. We talk about and ridicule people behind their backs instead of to their faces. But is that really any better? Probably not.

I don’t really have the answer. I wish I did. I wish I could say that all the assholes of the world got what was coming to them and karma was a real thing. But when most of us have mistreated those closest to us at one time or another I guess I would be lumping myself into that group.

So that just leaves me with more questions. Maybe self-awareness is the answer. If we could all see ourselves for what and who we are maybe we would think twice before saying or doing something that hurt someone else. Maybe we wouldn’t have such a sadistic need to see other people hurting just because we hurt.

Maybe…

2 thoughts on “Where do all the bullies go?

  1. I’m sorry you went through all that, although you seem to have reached a very wise and thoughtful view because of it. It’s beyond my understanding that humans can be so smart, but still do something as dumb and unpleasant as bully others, you’d think we’d have figured it out by now.

    Thank you for getting me thinking, I wish you a life surrounded by kindness 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

