Pick Your Battles

img132I am a woman. I always have been and always will be. It wasn’t something I ever questioned. It isn’t something I spend a whole lot of time thinking about honestly.

The only reason I bring it up now is because I have been bombarded with news about women and our rights recently. It seems like we should be banding together as one in self-righteous outrage.

But then I remembered I’m a citizen of the United States of America and live in a town where I can hop in my car at any time and go anywhere and do just about anything my heart desires. It doesn’t matter that I am a woman, no one is going to stop me. I even live in an area where crime as a whole is low so I don’t really have to worry about being attacked in any way. There are men in this world who can’t say that.

Women have rights. Men have rights. Children have rights.

You see where I’m going with this I hope. Every human being on this planet has rights. It doesn’t matter what our gender, race, or religion is. As long as we live, work, and play together in a reasonable fashion we all have rights. Mine are no better or worse than yours and vice versa.

Sounds reasonable, right?

I understand women haven’t been given the same rights as men, nor paid the same amount, nor given the same amount of respect. The same could be said for a lot of different groups. Yes, it is important to raise awareness and search for equality.

But I want to ask a question, one that I don’t really have an answer to. What would happen if we stopped screaming about our differences and fought for our rights as a person – an educated, logical, human being? Would that make a difference?

Would that give the bullies of the world less ammunition? Instead of pointing out our differences – some would argue, our weaknesses – start pointing out our strengths, our qualifications, things that make us who we are other than what we were born with.

Because, I don’t know about you but, I am so much more than just a woman. I am so much more than a kid raised in the back woods of West Virginia. I am so much more than what people have done to me in the past.

There are always going to be bullies and chauvinists and assholes in this world. They are the people who are afraid of what’s different and what they don’t understand. And, let’s face it, men have never really understood women, most of them anyway.

So where does that get us? I’m not saying don’t be different. I’m different. I don’t think or act like most of the people I have ever known. My parents disowned me because I was different than them. But I am more comfortable with my differences now. So much so that it doesn’t really matter if other people understand or even accept me.

I don’t feel the need to make people understand or accept me. Either they do or they don’t. As long as I’m left alone I don’t care what people do or say, because I can’t change them. I can only change me. So if I have to hide my crazy – or just not say anything because my life is really no one else’s business – for a little while to get along then so be it.

Pick your battles people…

Leave a Reply

