Your eyes only see what your mind lets you believe – Paul Jenkins

curioddityI had to stop a moment after I read that, and I’ll let you do the same…

Pithy quotes are all the rage right now on social media and blogs. They are meant to inspire, encourage, and laugh. But most of all to get readers’ attention. I guess that’s why I did it too, but there’s another reason. First, let me tell you who Paul Jenkins is.

He’s a comic writer for cartoons and video games and things like that. I didn’t know his work until I picked up his book, Curioddity, at the library. I like to do that sometimes, go to the library and pick out a book from an author I don’t know just based on the cover. Sometimes the book is okay, sometimes I return the book without even finishing it, but sometimes I find a book that so captures my imagination that I actually remember it years later.

Curioddity is that book. I will go so far as to say that it may be the cure for all of our negative, intolerant behavior of late – you know as a society. The times when we imagine there are offenses in every post, blog, or email. Huh, notice I didn’t mention any kind of verbal communication.

Sometimes I think we’ve become so wrapped up in ourselves and our problems and we start to see the world through such warped lenses that we start to believe everyone else’s behavior is a direct result of how they view us. When the truth is they are so wrapped up in themselves they don’t even see us. I think half the offenses in the world would vanish if people would realize the world doesn’t revolve around them.

‘Your eyes only see what your mind lets you believe’ is something one of Jenkins’ characters says to another character and it sets a whole adventure in motion. An adventure that any of us can have if we can only learn to see the beauty and wonder all around us. Well, maybe not exactly like in this book, but there’s still an adventure out there waiting for each and every one of us. We just have to learn how to ‘unlook’ at things!

Why not start today? Pick up Curioddity and let the adventure begin!

2 thoughts on “Your eyes only see what your mind lets you believe – Paul Jenkins

  1. You make the book sound inspiring! Life tends to weigh us down, make us dusty and, as you say, self involved, taking us out of that state of mind and into an adventure is what fiction is all about! Thank you for introducing me to this book 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

