Are there any absolutes in life?

img289I’ve been mulling this over for a while now. The amount of ambivalence and people’s ability to go back and forth on what they believe seems to be at an all-time high these days. So I began looking at my beliefs, my absolutes, to see if this prevailing attitude has infected me.

I will admit there are times in my life when I wish I had a rule book or, better yet, a series of pithy YouTube videos that would tell me exactly what to do and when to do it. Then I remember my childhood and my parents and how they were more than willing to plan out my whole adult life….

So maybe I don’t want that. There’s a reason why I left and never went back.

Where does that leave me, though? How can I finally be comfortable with the fact that I will never know for sure something is right before I do it or even decide to do it or even have the thought of doing it? How can I hold onto my absolutes and still navigate this life with peace and happiness?

I guess these are questions a lot of us struggle with from time to time. It’s very human, I think, to want the comfort of knowing the ending before we begin. We want to know we won’t be wasting our time when we commit to something.

But can we ever truly know with absolute certainty that anything will turn out the way we thought it would?

No, we can’t and I don’t know about you, but that scares me.

What happens when we fail or lose? (Notice I said when not if – both losing and failing are a part of life.)

  • Do we become so devastated to the point where we think our lives are over?
  • Do we allow ourselves to hold a pity party and invite all of our Facebook friends – you know those to which we are closest?
  • Do we stop being functional, productive adults who help society progress past the rough patches?

OR

  • Do we take a deep breath and regroup?
  • Do we finally understand that there’s more to this life than just our wants, dreams, and goals?
  • Do begin to see the big picture of this life to include people we may have dismissed yesterday?

 

There may be no way of being absolutely certain about anything in this life, but there are choices. I believe it’s in those choices where we will find our certainty, our compass, our way of living that will lead to the peace and happiness we are all so desperately seeking.

What choices will you make today?

Leave a Reply

