Living the Dream

img233Have you ever asked someone how they are just to have the sarcastically say, “Oh, you know, I’m just living the dream”?

I used to know someone who said that every time I asked her how she was. She was in her mid to late 50s and worked as a flight attendant for a small charter operation. After a couple of sarcastic comments to anything I asked I decided we would never be best friends so I never asked too many personal questions. So as far as I know she had never married and didn’t have any kids.

I say that now because I always wondered what made her life so horrible that she wasn’t really living the dream and was in general just a snarky bitch. And if that was true, then why she didn’t take steps to change that. Personally, I think she liked being snarky because she got some laughs most of the time. But honestly if you’re angry and frustrated most of the time wouldn’t you want to take steps to change that? Is it so hard to imagine being happy that you just give up halfway through your life? Most of the people I know seem to think that happiness and an overall satisfaction with their lives is impossible.

Call me crazy – and after reading my posts you just might – but as long as I’m still breathing there’s still time to adjust and grow and be happy and content. Well, maybe not content, but satisfied. I don’t know the exact word I’m looking for because I always like to build on past accomplishments.

Please don’t misunderstand, I really don’t think I’m the greatest since sliced bread, but I have reached some goals and some dreams that I never thought possible so I know that it is in fact possible to be living the dream. But I’ll let you in on a little secret, I was surprised when I realized that was what I was doing – living my dream.

Not yours. Not the one my parents wanted for me. My dream.

I think it’s more of a state-of-mind than anything. It doesn’t matter what I’m doing there will always be good days and not so good days. We get so caught up in the drama and the bull shit that exists and is perpetuated by a shallow, money-grubbing society that we forget we can go about our own business and be happy.

Sure I have problems, I have aches and pains, and I didn’t do everything I thought I was supposed to do yesterday – just like everyone else. But I also know that I have today to do what I need to do to make things better for my family and myself and even strangers.

It’s up to you and me what we do with today.

Is today the day you start looking at what you do have instead of lamenting what you don’t? Is today the day you start making decisions to make your dream a reality? Is today the day you start living the dream?

Leave a Reply

