This too shall pass…

cam00082As I stare at this blank page today many thoughts and feelings are swirling around me. I could choose to write about the negative emotions and circumstances since I feel those the strongest or maybe I should ignore them and go with something that happened to me yesterday that was positive and confirmed my faith in another human being. It’s a decision everyone has to make every day. Not the writing part, but the choosing part.

Unfortunately, most choose to focus on the negative thoughts, feelings, circumstances and ignore the positive that are just as prevalent. And I’m no different.

But it helps to remember that, negative or positive, most thoughts, feelings, even circumstances are fleeting. Hell, even people in our lives come and go.

My mom didn’t have a very good bedside manner. She thought being sick was an offense to her and her clean home, but one thing she said to me has stuck with me all these years and has proven true. She quoted the Bible – now don’t tune out or unfollow my blog, or you can if you want, but this is more practical than anything else – and said, “This too shall pass”.

“This too shall pass”…

Now think about that for a minute. How many things have happened to you that you were pretty sure you weren’t going to make it through, but you came through just fine?

It’s hard to remember those times because I, for one, don’t like to remember my worst moments – the pain, the embarrassment, the loneliness. But remembering those past hurts helps me get through the new ones, whether it’s an illness, a mistake, or a downright failure.

I feel the twinge of discomfort and then remember what it was like before, during, and after. And no matter how much it hurt I know – really know – that if I came out okay once I’ll come out okay again. I learned something from it – even if it was just not to do something again.

So, no matter what hell is raining down on you at this particular moment, just remember

This too shall pass…

One thought on “This too shall pass…

Leave a Reply

