My American Dream

img179Not so long ago I wrote about endless possibilities and how contemplating those will help me through the not so great times. Now I’m considering my lifelong dreams and goals and how I’m going to achieve them. And, well, I’m overwhelmed and scared.

Anyone else ever feel that way?

I’ve reached a couple of my long-term goals and am very happy that I was able to accomplish them, but then I realized I have a lot more to do. I used to think there was something wrong with me, because people asked me why I couldn’t be happy with what I had or accomplished.

But that’s not it.

I am happy and I have learned to take the time to appreciate the work I’ve done and the projects I’ve completed. But there’s this inner drive that keeps saying “what’s next?” over and over in my head. I’ve learned to slow it down a bit over the years because it’s exhausting otherwise.

It’s still there, though, every waking minute, churning out ideas and possibilities and work-arounds to problems. Like I said, exhausting. Some of you can relate, I’m sure.

So now circumstances have changed in my life and there seems to be an opening for me to step into the next phase of my life (R.J.’s coming too). I can see it and I can feel it, but it seems to not be the right time to step through. I have learned that timing is very crucial to success. Too soon and you crash and burn. Too late and the opening closes, sometimes forever.

If you want a great illustration of this feeling you should read The Drawing of the Three by Stephen King, but of course in order as you read the Dark Tower series. Perhaps the best series ever written!

So, yeah, overwhelmed and scared, but so incredibly excited!

My American Dream is within my grasp.

Sure it will be hard and will test my limits, but that’s what life is about right? The important part is that it’s there and it’s possible if I’m brave (crazy?) enough to reach for it no matter how scared, overwhelmed, or doubtful I am.

I would love to hear about your American Dream!

Leave a Reply

