The Real Cost of T.V. Addiction

wheres-the-beefAs I’ve mentioned before, I had a problem with watching too much T.V. I freaked out a little when my husband, R.J., proposed we cut the cable. After months of discussion, though, we went through with it and I must admit I didn’t miss it one bit.

Then the MLB playoffs started…

We live in Ohio so you know that means we’re stuck with the Cleveland Indians. But this year seems to be different. Sure they’re banged up and young, but I will go out on a limb and say they have that ‘it’ factor that became so popular on reality television awhile back. And trust me when I say I didn’t want to believe. I wanted to assume they were just as bad as in years past with players you couldn’t root for and a manager that made one bad decision after another.

We could be talking about the Browns now, but that’s another post…

So I believe now and R.J. has always believed and we had no way to watch the playoffs because we cut the cable and MLB are way behind the times and made it impossible to watch any of the games without cable.

What to do? What to do?

Enter new services which allow you to watch cable T.V. without the cable. It still costs you, but less. It still has all the commercials. And, here’s the kicker, with spotty service. It was like the early days of satellite T.V. when the wind would blow and the tree branches would block the signal. Maybe it’s still that way, but oh man, way annoying.

My family got better reception with an antenna when I was a kid.

So R.J. signs us up for a free week for one of these services. We get to watch the Indians sweep the Red Sox and have been getting ready for the next round.

What I found interesting is how shocked I was when I first saw a commercial again after going months without seeing one. I was angry almost. I didn’t want to be bombarded with ads for things I didn’t need, especially the food. And I used to love commercials. I’m probably one of the few people who would stop what they’re doing just to watch a commercial.

But now, the concepts are lame, the dialog is tired, and the acting is horrendous.

And yet…

I want a pizza at midnight. I want a new car that will throw our financial plan out the window. I want one of those smoked meat sandwiches from Arby’s.

I want, I want, I want…

So disgusting.

We’ve built a society around always wanting more and never being satisfied with what we have. And we’re lining up for the next greatest gadget or phone or whatever causing businesses to push more and more and tell us what we have to have.

And yet, we’re never happy, because there will always be something newer, better, faster. The minute you walk out of the store with something it has become obsolete. It’s a horrible, vicious cycle that consumes lives.

That’s the true cost of T.V. addiction – for me anyway. I will root for my team all the way, but I can’t wait to get back to living a commercial-free life.

Leave a Reply

