Consequence – Book 2 Update

img835So it was about 2 weeks ago that I instituted a daily word goal with a deadline for the first draft of December 31st for my next book, Consequence (Book 2 in the Fallacy trilogy). I wasn’t sure what would happen – writer’s block, I would have the cleanest house in the neighborhood, my dog’s would tell me to go away…

For some dumb reason I wasn’t expecting anything positive – not consciously anyway. I don’t think it’s sunk in yet that writing nourishes me in a way that nothing else can or that I might be pretty good at it. I know the jury’s still out on that one, but I’m hopeful.

And I’m getting better everyday!

I’m also happy to say that I’ve met or exceeded my goal of 1,000 words all but 3 of those days since September 22nd. But more importantly, the story – my story! – has come to life for me again. Characters have found their way into the story that I had no idea existed and it’s much, much better for it. In my humble opinion anyway!

When I wrote and self-published Fallacy I know there was a small part of me that believed I would become this overnight sensation and everyone would love everything I’d done – you know like on TV and in movies. 🙂

Well, that didn’t happen. I’m sure part of it was that I didn’t do everything I needed to do to promote the book and myself or start early enough…

But the other part is that none of those inspirational stories of triumph come close to telling you how much hard work and effort and pain those people had to put in to get where they’re at today. They put in just enough to make it look good on the screen, but most of the time they ignore the ugly, hard, and agonizing parts because no one wants to see that.

We want poof and we’ve accomplished our goals (feel free to insert your own goals here)!

  • Poof – I have 300 pages of pure genius written and ready to be published.
  • Poof – I have a fan base that is eagerly awaiting my next novel.
  • Poof – I never have to worry about working for someone else again.

No, this is a process and as clichĂ© as it sounds a journey. Most days I’m lucky to be okay with that, but then there are days…

You fellow aspiring authors out their know what I’m talking about!

  • The days when I’m pretty sure nothing I could ever write would ever appeal to anyone.
  • The days when I’m my mother’s voice is especially loud and she’s telling me what I’m supposed to be doing instead of writing.
  • The days when the thought of coming up with dialogue seems equivalent to climbing Mt. Everest.

So imagine my surprise when my self-imposed goal and deadline worked miracles! It took Mt. Everest and broke it down into manageable chunks. And I concentrate on writing 1,000 in a day instead of 100,000 words in 3 months now. I’m well on my way now and I can’t tell you what a huge relief it is!

Anyone else out there have tips on writing they’d like to share? I’d love to read them!

Leave a Reply

