Uncomplicated

rscn0302This is how I want my life to be right next to being stable. I used to say that my life was like a Jerry Springer episode – you know back before they had to stop people from fighting – and it was. Back then I thought that was how it had to be – that was the price I had to pay, or consequence, for choices that I had made.

And maybe that was true – emphasis on was. I certainly made some goofy choices when I was younger, but I also made some good choices. I would argue great and I think R.J. would agree. I’d like to take credit for them, that I knew what I was doing, but I can’t because when I was younger I was operating on pure gut instinct. There wasn’t much thought going into anything I did.

But for some odd reason I thought that was freedom. I thought I was finally an adult who could do as she pleased. I was free to make any choice or none at all and that was as good as it gets. I thought planning and forethought were what I was running away from – that my future would take care of itself.

As a result my life was one big roller coaster and not the fun kind. It was the kind that leaves you dazed and confused and not a little beat up when you’re done riding it. It was complicated, and again I thought that was the way it had to be.

It wasn’t until I learned that I had complete control of my thoughts, actions, and reactions that this all began to change. Things became less complicated.

  • I didn’t have to be upset all the time.
  • I didn’t have to control others in order to be happy.
  • I didn’t have to get my way all the time to be nice to those around me.
  • I didn’t have to practically vibrate with tension every waking moment.
  • I didn’t have to be angry anymore.

This is true freedom. I’m pretty sure I had to get through the Jerry Springer phase of my life to get where I’m at today, and I don’t regret most of what happened. I learned so many priceless lessons at the bottom and even more as I claw my way back to the top.

One of the most important is to be happy where I’m at on my way to where I’m going – Joyce Meyer fans may find that familiar. And even if you’re not religious or Christian or whatever you should check her out. I can honestly say her messages saved my life and made it so much better – and uncomplicated – than I ever thought possible.

The beauty of this journey is that it gets better, easier, and more uncomplicated everyday.

It doesn’t matter where you’re starting from or how complicated things are in your life right now, even minor adjustments can make a huge difference!

Like saying no the next time someone wants you to do something you know you don’t have time for…

Leave a Reply

