Own Your Creativity

DSCN0340.JPGI finished and self-published my first novel, Fallacy, a few months ago. I’m still trying to process that fact. Now I’m working on my second one, which is a prequel to the first.

Well, “working on it” is a bit generous.

If I’m being honest, what I’m really doing is avoiding it like the plague. The good thing is that in the process of avoidance I’m starting and finishing other projects I’ve been putting off for months or years! I’ve excused my lack of progress with many different things:

  • It’s too hot
  • It’s too cold
  • My husband is interrupting me
  • My dogs are too loud
  • The neighbor’s dogs are too loud
  • I’m just not feeling it
  • I already wrote for my blog today
  • I don’t have enough time today

But what it comes down to is that I’m afraid. I’m afraid of what people will think. I’m afraid no one will read what I write. I’m afraid people will read what I write. I’m afraid of failure. I’m afraid of success. I’m afraid of my creativity – at least when it comes to my writing.

I love creating things – building things. It gives my life purpose and meaning. I can’t think of anything greater than building a world for my characters. But I’m so overwhelmed by it too.

This is probably nothing new. I’m sure there are bunches of people out there that feel the same way. And not just writers.

I believe we were built to be creative problem-solvers, but our creativity gets stifled in so many ways by so many well-meaning people very early on in our lives. They create so much self-doubt that most of us give up being creative by the time we reach adulthood. Or think we do, because we’re not writers, artists, or musicians.

But creativity can be seen in so many more professions if we could just take a minute to appreciate it, accept it, own it. Everyone has ideas and most are creative and, dare I say, innovative, but most dismiss those ideas before they even see the light of day. Afraid of many of the same things I mentioned earlier.

But why? Answer that and I think you’ll be able to get past what’s blocking your creativity.

I know listing my excuses helped me see how silly they really are. Writing fills a part of me like nothing else. Why should I let anything hold me back?

Why should you let anything – or anyone – hold you back?

Own your creativity!!

Leave a Reply

