Right Place, Right Time

DSCN0502So we’ve all heard the saying “wrong place, wrong time”. Heck, we’ve probably said it a time or two. It’s a great way to explain the inexplicably horrible things that sometimes happens to us. It’s also a great way to pass the blame for some dumb decisions we all make.

Well, there have been a series of events that have happened to me recently, some good, some bad, and some that could go either way depending on the day. Most of them have been out of my control, but some are the direct result of decisions that I’ve made. It’s gotten to the point now where I question why I’m even reading a certain book.

It is certainly a time of transition from one phase of my life to the next. I’ve had many transitions in my life and most of them have revolved around my job. You see, I’m a job-hopper. I’ve been a server, a commercial and residential cleaner, a pharmacy tech, a deli clerk, and a truck driver just to name a few. I’ve had some really cool jobs and I’ve had some really crappy jobs, but in one way they were all the same…

When I was able to forget about me, forget that that world didn’t (doesn’t) revolve around me, I was able to appreciate the people I worked with. I was able to see that they were hurting just as much if not more than I was. I was able to encourage, lift up, and (I hope) even inspire. For a brief moment I was in the “right place at the right time” for them.

It’s easy to have the “wrong place, wrong time” mindset. It gives us an excuse to be rude, surly even to those around us. It makes going to work everyday almost unbearable, and you can forget about doing your job with a smile on your face. It makes us easily offended and raring to give offense right back.

I know. I’ve been there, done that as they used to say.

It is only through these transitions that I’ve learned how my words and actions have affected those I’ve spent so much time with over the years. I would like to say that all of those people I’ve worked with have been affected positively, but I like to be as honest with myself as possible so I can’t. I was too caught up in me and my feelings and my life to care how what I said and did affected those around me.

So now, even when things happen to me that make me wish I had left the house a little bit earlier or later or just stayed home, I take a minute to look around. Because I’ve come to realize that this life isn’t all about me. Because I know there’s someone close to me that’s had a worse morning. Because there’s someone starting to question everything.

In that minute I ask myself, “How can I be in the right place at the right time for someone?”

How about you? Can you be in the right place at the right time for someone today?

Leave a Reply

