Ready for Another Day?

P1010022.JPGI will be the first one to admit that I am or can be tightly wound. You know the type – they enter the room and you immediately feel tension and a vague sense of unease, your shoulders tense up as if expecting a physical blow as your waiting for this person’s first comment. All I can say is that I’m working very hard to not be that way anymore.

Because as hard as it is for observers to deal with someone like that, it is soooo much worse inside that person’s head. It is a constant barrage of negative ‘what if’ thoughts, worry, and anxiety. It leaves a person short of breath and very, very cranky.

It’s like being constantly poked by that annoying kid in class reminding you of everything you’ve never done or will do in your life. Or maybe it’s my mother… Yeah, her voice still rings in my head on occasion, reminding me of every bad choice I ever made.

  • Forget that I have been with the same man for 19 years, married for 10 – happily.
  • Forget that I have a Master’s degree in Business Psychology.
  • Forget that I wrote my first novel Fallacy and published it myself.
  • Forget that I am continuing to learn and grow as a writer, as a wife, as a friend, as a human.

And that is exactly what anxiety makes you do – forget all of the good you’ve accomplished. Everything you do everyday in spite of the negative thoughts and well-meaning nay sayers. Your list of accomplishments is probably nothing like mine, so what? I know you have that list, even if it’s only in your head.

Write that list down. Even if you’re the only one who ever reads it – write it down on a piece of paper today! Acknowledge your awesomeness. Acknowledge the impact you’ve had in your circle of influence. Acknowledge that you’ve done things that you thought were impossible at the time.

I don’t know about you, but I’m ready for another day!!!

Leave a Reply

