Home Renovation…

…and Why It Makes the World Stop Spinning

If you don’t own a home or aren’t responsible for repairs then I don’t expect you to have a clue as to what I’m talking about. But it’s true life comes to a screeching halt when you’re remodeling/fixing your home, especially if you’re using a company to do some or all of the work.

CAM00192

Old Counter Top

Don’t get me wrong, I love home renovation projects. Being able to update, upgrade, or just remove the shitty work done to my home in the past is just about the awesomest thing ever. There are a lot of times when a project was the reason I got out of bed in the morning – you know instead of going to work.

 

But damn it’s exhausting! And it never ends!

I’m being dramatic. Of course it ends, but the process is excruciating especially when I’m watching someone install something. Part of me really wants to watch closely, not because I think they’ll do a bad job, but because I want to learn the process. But I know I can’t watch closely because I would imagine they would hate that. So I sit there close by in case they need anything or need me to make a decision and wait.

 

Now you know that I’m working on my patience and know that waiting is just part of life. Perhaps if waiting today didn’t involve 90 degree heat and high humidity and no air conditioning the waiting would have been easier. But it did and everything I had planned for the day kind of went out the window.

But the waiting is over! I’m still sitting in 90 degree heat and high humidity and need to

DSCN0425[1]

New cabinets w/ Counter Top

cook dinner, but I now have beautiful new granite counter tops! No the kitchen isn’t done, but I’m a lot closer than I was a year ago and am pretty happy with the result.

Tomorrow I will be able to put everything back in the cabinets and reclaim my dining room! It feels like all of this has taken forever and happened all at once. I’ve been hurrying up and waiting for a long time now, but the finish line is in sight.

Maybe the world doesn’t stop spinning during a renovation. Maybe I just wish it would so I could catch my breath before the next project!

Leave a Reply

