Am I addicted to convenience?

In an effort to eat healthier and support local farmers R.J. and I signed up for produce from a local cooperative called Geauga Family Farms which includes produce and other items from 10 certified-organic family farms. If you want to find one in your area or farmers markets check out Local Harvest.

The items vary from week to week, but everything has been fresh, ripe, and delicious! They are a great addition to our own garden.CAM00335 It’s been fun to discover new recipes for vegetables we haven’t eaten before or just create our own. But the decision to sign up wasn’t an easy one.

The decision meant we were taking another step toward a healthier lifestyle. A lifestyle that doesn’t include fast food or convenience. For me convenience is more of an issue.

There are times when cooking is the last thing in the world I want to do. So to have to do it at least three times a day is awful. I am a big fan of the microwave! Even though I know that a meal prepared from scratch and cooked on the stove, oven, or grill is better for you and definitely tastes better there are times I would take the quick meal instead. The meal that doesn’t take any planning or forethought. The meal where I ignore the packaging that tells me just how not nutritious the food is or how many unnecessary calories I will be consuming.

Oh I’ve done the diets and get results quick programs and most have worked for awhile. But none of them addressed the convenience issue. They all had prepackaged food. They all made it possible to “work in” foods that have no nutritional value.

In other words, I was still relying on old lifestyle habits. Fundamentally nothing had changed.

I won’t kid either you or myself. Changing my lifestyle and my thinking about my habits is probably one of the hardest things I will ever do. It is also not going to happen overnight. That’s why all of these programs and pills are doing a disservice to people. They do not address the underlying issues of why people are overweight or unhealthy. They do not require people to face their deepest, darkest secrets and desires.

So this is me admitting that I will take convenience over good nutrition. That when I have a bad day I still reach for food or drink to comfort me more often than not.

Does this mean all hope is lost?

Hell, no! I am still making better choices than I did a year ago and more often. I am consciously taking back control over something I should have had control over all along – what I put in my body.

Am I addicted to convenience? The simple, cringe-worthy answer is yes.

Do I have to stay addicted to convenience? The simple, hard answer is no.

The journey continues…..

Fallacy Graphic

Leave a Reply

