More Than Just Survival?

 

I am going on a journey. Not a journey to a place, but a journey which will take me to a different lifestyle. This journey will require me to face demons that I’ve been dealing with my whole life. This journey will require me to admit many things.

You may recall my admission to being addicted to watching television a few weeks ago. Well let’s just say it doesn’t stop there. It became easy for me to rely on other crutches to deal with mental and emotional distress. In fact, food has been my crutch of choice for as long as I can remember. Just typing that is enough to make me run to the kitchen, but then I remember that I’ve already gotten rid (eaten) all the junk food and haven’t bought anymore.

CAM00342So now I need to retrain my mind and my body to make good choices, smart choices. Choices that will help me stay healthy for the rest of my journey. I need to take a moment to pause every once and awhile and reflect on the consequences of past choices so as to learn from them.

It is so easy to let external circumstances dictate how I act and respond. It is so easy to be influenced by the world around me and other people.

I think it’s fair to say that things in this world have gotten a little out of control. And it seems the more out of control the world becomes the more people seem to want to hurt those around them. That saying misery loves company has become the norm.

Well, I want it to stop. I want to do more than just survive. I want to live my life on purpose, with purpose, and with meaning. I want to feel healthy and whole. I want to be kind to people even when they don’t deserve it. I want to respect myself. I want to respect others, if for no other reason than they are fellow human beings.

This is where my journey begins.

I might fall down, I might pause along the way, but I will never stop.


 

Fallacy Cover

 

 

Fallacy is now available for only $.99!

Follow Jenny as she tries to find purpose and meaning in her own life in a world that has literally gone to hell!

2 thoughts on “More Than Just Survival?

  1. I find that I’m in the similar situation- I want to be healthy and decent, but once I’m home, tired after work- I always fall back under my “safety blanket” – alcohol and food. It’s near impossible not to give in to temptation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

