Life Goes On

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYou may not be able to see it, but there’s a very tiny bird on the topmost branch on the right side of this tree. Just a speck in relation to its surroundings.

Sometimes I feel like that bird in this picture – alone, very small, and a little confused.

I’m not going to lie, I had some trouble writing this post. Not because I didn’t have anything to say, but because I didn’t know how to say what I wanted.

It seems this world – America in particular – is going to hell. Whether you believe in the actual hell spelled with a capital H or just that society as a whole is collapsing, you have to admit hell is a pretty good way of describing current events.

And yet people still post funny cat videos, memes bashing the Democrats, memes bashing the Republicans, hell memes bashing anything they don’t agree with or understand.

In other words – life goes on.

And maybe that’s the point. It’s easy to get worked up over the injustices and the lies, but at the end of the day most things are very temporary. It’s easy to forget that when you’re in the middle of what seems like the worst thing that could ever happen, but the next thing you know it’s a year later and you’re still here.

You’re not the same person – never the same person, but you’re still here.

I was almost finished with this post when I realized it was the most depressing piece of shit I had ever written. I read it a couple of times and decided that’s not who I am or who I want to be. I had to rewrite the ending….

Don’t get me wrong, I am very well aware that bad things happen, and it seems like everything is going to hell in a hand basket. But I have to believe that for every moron spouting doom and gloom and intolerance there have to be at least ten people who feel the opposite.

Those are the people who need to speak up and be heard now.

Those are the people who can and will turn things around and rewrite the ending.

That is the group I want to be a part of – who’s with me?

 

Leave a Reply

