My Life After Cable T.V.

Happy Independence Day!

Hopefully everyone out there still has all their fingers and toes. I was contemplating this day of Independence and wondering if it had more meaning than it just being our great nation’s freedom.

Don’t worry this is not going to turn into a political post. I promise to do my best to never let that happen. I know things are a little screwy right now, but if I throw my two cents worth in I feel like I would just be beating a dead horse.

Okay, where was I? Oh, right, independence and it’s greater, more personal meaning.

I might as well admit it. I was (am?) addicted to watching cable T.V. I would wake up in the morning, grab a cup of coffee, and turn on the T.V. I would come home from work, change my clothes, and turn on the T.V. It would be on most if not all of my waking hours when I was at home.

Now, I should also mention that I was going to college for about the last 10 years or so and I would also be doing homework while I was watching T.V. I know, I know, my mom tried to break me of the habit when I was in grade school and never had much success. Of course we never had it for any length of time either. Whenever my Mom got a bee in her bonnet about the evils of television the cable would go for a while – that’s one way she could stop me. I survived, but I was not happy.

This might explain my favorite childhood game – Surviving the End of the World.

Wow, I am getting sidetracked today!

It was about a year or so ago when my husband – let’s call him R.J. – got another cable bill and it went up again. This was the third increase in as many months I think and he finally confronted my addiction. I will give him credit, though, he did ask if it was okay if he cancelled the cable. He allowed me to think I had a say in the matter, lol!

Of course, I did. If I had pitched a fit (another way of saying if I had been a bitch about it), I’m sure he would have caved at least until the next increase. You see my R.J. is a very frugal, financially responsible person. Think Frugalwoods and Mr. Money Mustache. If you haven’t checked out their blogs you should do so. It’s for your own good!

And being the frugal, financially responsible person that he is, R.J. mentioned early retirement and that it was possible for us IF we quit wasting money (i.e. paying for cable television). There were/are other ways we’re cutting back, but at the time that was a big one and not just because he wanted to save money.

You see, T.V. is one of my crutches. I have a bad day, I watch T.V. I get frustrated because I’m still working for someone who can’t seem to understand that I’m a professional and know what I’m talking about, I watch T.V. Heck, I just have a bit of road rage on the way home from said job, I watch T.V.

It was a habit. I didn’t think it was that bad of a habit – all things are relative after all – until I realized that it was costing me something that is in a very limited, and possibly short supply. TIME! I think we would all agree that there never seems to be enough time.

Yet how many hours do we sit in front of the bright, flashing box happily settling for mediocrity and complaining because we can never get things done?

Getting rid of cable was only half the battle, though. Now you can stream just about any show or movie you want, and that’s just what I did for the first few months after we got rid of cable. It wasn’t until R.J. and I decided to renovate our home that a switch flipped in my brain. I finally understood that it was okay to switch the television off even if I was at home. It was okay to sit outside in the morning and enjoy my cup of coffee in the morning. It was okay to write my posts without the T.V. on in the background.

The results are astounding! I was able to renovate our basement, and we’re very close to finishing our kitchen, all in a few short months. Oh and I wrote a novel! I was able to do something that I’ve been dreaming of doing since I was a kid. I would like to think that if someone had told me if I  just turned the T.V. off I would have been able to accomplish more I would have listened.

I don’t like to lie to myself, though. I know I’m stubborn and would have never listened. I didn’t listen to my Mom all those years ago. Oh crap, did I just prove her right…..


Fallacy CoverDon’t forget to check out my novel, Fallacy, today!

It’s on sale for $0.99 for one more day!

Amazon.com

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Life After Cable T.V.

Leave a Reply

