Consequence

So I looked up the phrase “no rest for the wicked” today because its always been one of those sayings that I grew up hearing and didn’t really know where it came from or what it meant exactly. It came to mind today because I released my new book Fallacy yesterday and realized today that I have to start working on book two – Consequence (more on that later).

As for the meaning of “no rest for the wicked”, I found this really cool website – www.phrases.org.uk – that was able to tell me the origin of the phrase. Turns out it’s biblical. I guess I wasn’t too surprised since it refers to bad people. As in those who go to hell never rest, are tormented forever. It’s taken on a slightly different meaning today. Now it’s meant mostly as a joke. And I suppose that’s why I thought of it. Like I can’t stop writing now that Fallacy is finished. Not that I want to stop, but after editing like a madwoman for more days than I want to think about I did want a break.

Then I thought how this phrase would apply to Jenny Hastings, the protagonist in Fallacy. I think it fits her situation very well. She is having to fight enemies she doesn’t even know she has while dealing with her own inner demons.

In the next book, Consequence, you will get to know Jenny even better! You will come to understand why she is the way she is, and I dare say there may even be moments you don’t like her all that much in this prequel to Fallacy. Don’t worry though, the third book, Redemption, in this trilogy will pick up where Fallacy left off and answer all the questions you have!

Leave a Reply

